22, it’s been real.

you were a good year. here are some highlights:

  • i played a bunch of shows.
  • i somehow survived astronomy, with the help of kayleigh, taryn, madison, jonathan, jillian, and many others.
  • i somehow survived dell dying.
  • i somehow survived LOST ending.
  • i saw about a million friends get married.
  • i saw about a million more get engaged.
  • i applied to/auditioned for/got accepted to graduate school.
  • i started graduate school.
  • i wanted to drop out of graduate school. daily.
  • i ran a 5k. for extra credit. i’m not above it.
  • i directed my favorite play ever, which was a dream come true. it was actually the perfect experience with the perfect people.
  • i designed a set, all by myself! i mean, it was essentially just a platform, but come on.
  • i got the jonsi album the moment it came out.
  • i subsequently died upon listening to it.
  • i SOMEHOW survived taking 20 hours in one semester.
  • i made my first (and hopefully last) C. in american history.
  • I SAW PATTY GRIFFIN.
  • I SAW JONSI. TWICE.
  • I SAW SUFJAN STEVENS.
  • i discovered the beauty and love that is girls group.
  • i went on many road trips: abilene, dallas (about a million times), austin, norman, lawrence, you name it.
  • i talked on inanimate objects as phones more than i talked on actual phones.
  • i decided to work at camp for the summer.
  • i convinced kayleigh to work at camp with me.
  • i somehow survived the infamous 6-tickets-for-graduation fiasco.
  • i read harry potter.
  • i participated (albeit briefly) in a peaceful protest for a great cause.
  • i wanted to kill someone every day because OC internet never worked.
  • i climbed lots of rocks.
  • i wrote a song.
  • i watched my friends being famous: taryn on network tv and evan running lights on jimmy fallon.
  • I GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE.
  • i played live with the non.
  • i played horn on people,people’s album.
  • i got to act onstage with my hero, amber harrington herself.
  • i got to hold a lot of babies and play with a lot of puppies.
  • i almost died in a lot of tornadoes.
  • i almost died in one freak hail storm.
  • i got tweeted at by sara watkins and ree drummond (the pioneer woman).
  • i fell in love with kent.
  • i fell in love with my camp family.
  • i got accused of stealing walkie #15.
  • i invented epi-pen, the most fun game on earth.
  • i got in my first car wreck. we almost died in a flood.
  • i almost died again, this time in a huge storm.
  • i lived by myself for the first time in my life.
  • i rappelled from a roof.
  • i lead worship at a precious friend’s baptism.
  • i got asked to be the maid of honor for my best friend’s wedding!
  • i got asked to play music at one of my best friends’ wedding!
  • i went to a beauty pageant that was TOTALLY toddlers and tiaras.
  • i read the pioneer woman’s whole entire love story. it gave me unrealistic hopes and dreams about falling in love.
  • i started paying my bills. (it’s overrated.)
  • i stayed out until last call for the first time in my life.
  • i started teaching a class of freshman intro to theatre.
  • i went on kappa float.
  • i loved on my friends.

23, you have a lot to live up to. i’m excited.

About downbytheburoak

this used to be a summer blog. now, summer's over. i'm starting graduate school. i'm equal parts excited out of my mind...and terrified out of my mind. come on my adventure with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

